The Shadow of What Was Lost

By James Islington

Licanius Trilogy book 1



Out of stock

About The Author

James Islington

A young man with forbidden magic finds himself drawn into an ancient war against a dangerous enemy in The Shadow of What Was Lost, book one of the Licanius Trilogy, the series that fans are heralding as the next Wheel of Time.

As destiny calls, a journey begins.

It has been twenty years since the godlike Augurs were overthrown and killed. Now, those who once served them — the Gifted — are spared only because they have accepted the rebellion’s Four Tenets, vastly limiting their powers.

As a Gifted, Davian suffers the consequences of a war lost before he was even born. He and others like him are despised. But when Davian discovers he wields the forbidden power of the Augurs, he and his friends Wirr and Asha set into motion a chain of events that will change everything.

To the west, a young man whose fate is intertwined with Davian’s wakes up in the forest, covered in blood and with no memory of who he is. . .

And in the far north, an ancient enemy long thought defeated begins to stir.

The Licanius Trilogy is a series readers will have a hard time putting down — a relentless coming-of-age epic from the very first page.

“Storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire.”” — Guardian

The plot twists are unexpected, the world building is fascinating, and the fledgling love story is a charmer…. This sweeping and compelling epic is ripe for a sequel.– Booklist on The Shadow of What Was Lost

Ingeniously plotted…Islington’s natural storytelling ability provides incessant plot twists and maintains a relentless pace…A promising page-turner from a poised newcomer.– Kirkus on The Shadow of What as Lost


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Shadow of What Was Lost”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.